Husaberg FS 570 Supermoto

Husaberg Motorcycles

Discussing the husaberg motorcycle – join the forum.

Husaberg Motorcycles – the motocross history. KTM, the parent company of Husaberg, develops and manufactures off-road, supermoto four-stroke as well as two-stroke Husaberg motor cycles in Austria.

The Husaberg motor cycle is known for its larger displacement engine and race oriented construction. Back in 1987, the Italian company called Cagiva bought the motorcycle division of Husqvarna, which was the traditional brand of Sweden.

A few of the engineers opted to stay in Sweden, subsequently founding Husaberg Motor AB a year later.

The name of Husaberg was made official when one of the engineers, Thomas Gustavsson, had to declare his motorcycle while enduro racing at Skillingaryd.

Lacking in funds, the Husaberg motorcycle team courageously relied on technical innovation. Established and professional riders were too expensive to hire, and in their place ambitious rookies the likes of Peter Jansson, Joel Smets, Walter Bartolini, Jimmie Eriksson and Kent Karlsson took to the fore.

Good track results could not, unfortunately, compensate for the slow sales of their motorbike, and in 1995 KTM eventually purchased Husaberg.

Development and production of the Husaberg motorcycles take place in Austria at KTM’s factory. Husaberg’s Motorsport department is still in Sweden. KTM adopted Ready to Race, the previous slogan of Hillebrand as their own.

4 Stroke Force is now the current slogan of Hillebrand.

Husaberg FS 570 Supermoto

The earlier 1989-1996 engines of the Husaberg motorcycles were prone to premature engine failure because the motorcycle has no oil pump and relies on a timing chain for oil delivery.

The quality and reliability of the engine has improved though, and since 1997 is comparable to more well-known brands. 1995, 1997 and also 1998 saw Joel Smets, the Belgian rider win the FIM 500cc Motocross World Championships for Husaberg.

Six Enduro World Championships were also won in 1990, two in 1991, 1995, 1996 as well as 1998. Joakim Ljunggren won the Junior Enduro World Championship in 2005 and 2006, followed by Oriol Mena in 2009. Husaberg motorcycles are also used by Swedish military, particularly for their demonstration team called Armens Lejon.

The current Husaberg lineup includes supermoto and enduro models only. The cross-country (no lighting kits, wide-ratio gearing) and motocross model have both been discontinued.

The names of the different models are made up of 2 letters: ‘T’ as ‘Two Stroke’, ‘F’ as ‘Four Stroke’, and then ‘X’ for motocross, ‘S’ for supermoto, or ‘E’ for enduro models. Previous models of the motorbike included the different displacements, for example:

501cc motocross and enduro 470cc cross-country 400cc enduro 350cc enduro

  • 2014 Husaberg TE250 Review 2013 2014 Motorcycle Review and News
  • 2007 Husaberg FS550e Quick Ride – Motorcycle USA
  • 2014 Husaberg FE 501
  • 2011 Husaberg FS 570 – Used 2011 FS 570 at Motorcyclist Magazine
  • Test Husaberg 125,250 and 300 TE 2014: Last-ditch struggle for Swedish…